About Dora

A few things about me:

I live in center city Philadelphia on the 32nd floor of a high rise where I can see Alexander Milne Calder’s William Penn standing tall on the top City Hall from my window.

I was born in Argentina and I still return there from time to time. I don’t like to fly but I LOVE to travel so I buck up and fly anyway.

I’m inspired by the bold and bright colors and energy that you can see here, there, and everywhere, in people, clothing, houses, vegetation but especially while walking around in my native Buenos Aires, Argentina.

I crave artichokes, avocados, sushi and very dark chocolate.

My latest favorite reads are The Dutch House by Ann Patchett, City ofGirls by Elizabeth Gilbert, and most of the Isabel Allende books.

You might find me listening to Emmylou HarrisSteve Earle and most kind of folk music, both Argentinean and American while I’m am working in my studio.

English mysteries and House Hunters International are among my favorite TV shows.

I enjoy visiting art galleries to see what my fellow artists are up to. I like listening to them telling me about what they are doing. To this end, I try my best not to miss First Friday in Philadelphia.

I thrive being around other artists. I have the good fortune to be able to work in my studio that is a mill factory now converted to studios for artists, two floors full of creativity, stimulation, and good friends.

I love to dance, which you might expect from a native Argentinian–home of the Tango.

I love to sing but am not very good at it so the shower is a great place to practice.

I love poppies and all flowers in general.

I worry about situations or things that usually never materialize so I’m teaching myself to let it go.

My spouse is my best friend and soul mate.

My son is my hero. You might be wondering why? He is doing what I wish I would have done back in my 20’s but didn’t have the guts to do. Watching how Jonathan is doing gave me the courage to do it. He is following his dream.

My spouse and I are grandmas to four beautiful children, one boy, 7 yrs old and 3 girls, 5, 2 and 6 months.

I feel blessed to have what I have.

I am thankful for my friends, my family, and the new friends I find through my online connections.